Volunteering – St Francis’ Children Society

Through my school and the Get Involved (GIV) Project I was interviewed and chosen to take part and lead a project to transform a garden in a local children’s adoption centre. More on St Francis’ Children Society here: https://www.facebook.com/stfrancischildrenssociety/

BEFORE:

This garden was designed by myself and 4 other Sixth Form students; also with the help of Garden Designers from Cherrypip Garden Designers. This space was created to give, the community visiting, a place to both relax and play. The building is used for the children, adoption parents and adopting parents so a transformation like this can make a huge difference on the outlook from their time spent there. We were also lucky enough to be funded by the Milton Keynes Community Foundation and were donated plants from Homebase too.

At the end of only 3 days it was being open to the public and to do so the Mayor, Steve Coventry, visited. I was honored to give a tour of the garden, the building and explain our aims and achievements to both the Mayor and Mayoress along with another student I was working with.  I was interviewed by the press and many photos were taken. Take a look at the article published about the whole scheme, including a video: http://www.onemk.co.uk/charity-garden-created-by-milton-keynes-students-opens-to-the-public/story-29491896-detail/story.html

13580532_1377137318979866_5836110550122713079_o13576709_1377137302313201_8018160502080607490_o

St Francis garden opening 2

13641284_1377137412313190_1757321585986241574_o

I’m so grateful I got to take part in this scheme; working and helping those of younger years in my school and learning new skills, both socially and physically. I have done some volunteering in the past but this seemed like a whole new experience and I thoroughly enjoyed myself as well. I would love to take part in more volunteering and schemes like this in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

