Comparing VOGUE Covers from 1920’s to 20th Century

This was a piece that was incorporated in my recent A Level ‘Spirit of Art Deco’ Exam project. This was to compare the differences and similarities of Vogue covers over time.

I started with the date my project is based on (1920) and found it was very illustrating based in its style. I then looked at 1940 where it was still heavily illustrative inspired but the side text on the front covers started to appear and there was a more realistic approach to the style. The next was the 60s where it had taken a massive jump to photographs and its recognisable font and appearance that we see today.

This whole piece was done with watercolour and ink using a range of sizes of paintbrushes to create techniques from realistic skin textures to fine lines for the fonts.

My favourite is the 1940s one because I feel this shows off my skill the best and enjoy how the layout out is presented on the page.

IMG_3265

1920, 1940, 1960, 2016

IMG_3295

My favourite

Leave a Reply

